News / Art

Shortlist announced for Griffin Art Prize, aiming to catapult the career of one emerging artist


The Griffin Art Prize has announced the ten shortlisted artists for this year’s awards. The prize, now in its sixth year, highlights “some of the most exciting contemporary artists in painting and drawing”.

The shortlist comprises Cristina Banban, Sooyoung Chung, Oli Epp, Jade Fadojutimi, Jonathan Kelly, Anna Liber Lewis, Jinyong Park, Noor Qayyum, Maia Regis and Rania Schoretsaniti.

The Griffin Art Prize award allows the winning artist to continue to create great work “designed to have a meaningful impact on the career of one emerging artist”, as well as receiving the prestigious accolade. The prize includes £2000 for studio rent, £3000’s worth of materials from Windsor & Newton, Liquitex and Conté á Paris, a support programme including mentoring from an arts professional in the field, technical advice from Innovation and Development laboratory, visits from Griffin Gallery’s head curator, Becca Pelly-Fry, a showcase of work at the Griffin Art Prize exhibition and a £5000 stipend.

This year’s judges include artist Ansel Krut, owner and chairman of Lindéngruppen Jenny Lindén Urnes, Griffin Gallery’s head curator Becca Pelly-Fry and Robert Shore, editor of Elephant magazine. The judges will be “looking for excellence and innovation in painting and drawing,” in order to launch “the careers of the next generation of artists who may not otherwise have the means to do so, by providing the time and funding necessary to pursue their artistic ambition”.

The winner of the Griffin Art Prize will be announced at a private view at Griffin Gallery on 1 November and an exhibition of the shortlisted artists will open on 2 November. An exhibition of the winner’s work created since the award will follow in November 2018.


Sooyoung Chung: Fly in Tropical


Cristina Banban: The Barrio Jumble


Jinyong Park: Untitled


Jonathan Kelly: Chance Maker


Maia Regis: Run Devil Run