Finalists revealed for top EU architecture prize, the Mies van der Rohe award

16 February 2017

Rudy Ricciotti: Rivesaltes Memorial Museum. Photo: Kevin Dolmaire

The finalists have been announced for the Mies van der Rohe award, one of the most prestigious prizes in contemporary architecture. The biennial award is given to a project in the European Union and includes projects in the UK, France, Poland, the Netherlands and Denmark.

The shortlist includes:

Ely Court in London by Alison Brooks Architects
Kannikegården in Ribe by Lundgaard&Tranberg Architects
Katyn Museum in Warsaw by BBGK Architekci
Rivesaltes Memorial Museum by Rudy Ricciotti
deFlat Kleiburg in Amsterdam by NL Architects and XVW architectuur

Stephen Bates, architect and chairman of the jury said of the shortlist: “Our instincts could be summed up by the words of Peter Smithson: ‘things need to be ordinary and heroic at the same time’. We were looking for an ordinariness whose understated lyricism is full of potential’.”

The winner, who receives prize money of €60,000, will be announced in Brussels on 16 May.


NL Architects and XVW architectuur: deFlat Kleiburg. Photo: Marcel van der Brug


BBGK Architekci: Katyn Museum


Lundgaard&Tranberg Architects: Kannikegården. Photo: Anders Sune Berg


Alison Brooks: Ely Court. Photo: Paul Riddle

Share Article

Further Info

About the Author

Jenny Brewer

After five years as It’s Nice That’s news editor, Jenny became online editor in June 2021, overseeing the website’s daily editorial output.

Jenny is currently on maternity leave.

It's Nice That Newsletters

Fancy a bit of It's Nice That in your inbox? Sign up to our newsletters and we'll keep you in the loop with everything good going on in the creative world.