News / Miscellaneous

Seven winners, including Lance Wyman, announced as recipients of AIGA Medal


Lance Wyman

Art Chantry, Emmett McBain, Rebeca Méndez, Mark Randall, Nancy Skolos, Tom Wedell and Lance Wyman will be awarded the AIGA medal this year. The medals, presented by the AIGA since 1920, are given to individuals who “have set standards of excellence over a lifetime of work or have made individual contributions to innovation within the practice of design.”

The awards will be presented in New York on the 21 April. Each of this year’s winners is celebrated in an essay on the AIGA website, each presented with a citation.

Lance Wyman is recognised for “his mastery of visual ecosystems and for setting the standard for the universal, public design experience,” while Art Chantry was selected for “his intrepid exploration of subculture visual communication and his fearless celebration of cultural diversity”.

Rebeca Méndez is recognised for “challenging and transforming academia and design with her innovative interplay of identity and culture” and Emmett McBain for his “evolutionary design leadership and profound social impact in cofounding Burrell-McBain Advertising”.

The 2017 awards committee was chaired by Bonnie Siegler and also includes Andrew Blauvelt, director at Cranbrook Art Museum; Antionette Carroll, CEO and president of the Creative Reaction Lab; Brian Collins, CCO and co-founder of Collins; Denise Gonzales Crisp, professor at North Carolina State University College of Design; and Terry Irwin, head of the Carnegie Mellon University School of Design.

This year’s winners join an illustrious list of designers who have already been awarded the medal including Bruce Mau, Paula Scher, George Nelson, Herb Lubalin, Saul Bass and Josef Albers. 


Nicola Antonazzo for AIGA: Lance Wyman portrait


Lance Wyman: Obama 08 poster


Lance Wyman: Mexico City Metro 1969


Art Chantry


Art Chantry: Give Peace a Dance (1986)


Emmett McBain


Emmett McBain: True advert (1968)


Michael Powers for AIGA: Rebeca Méndez portrait


Rebeca Méndez: 10 Works