Sponsored / Miscellaneous

“The internet’s highest honour” – the Webby Awards deadline is approaching


The Webby Award

Entries for The Webby Awards are closing 16 December, meaning there’s less than a couple of weeks left to submit your entry for what The New York Times called “the internet’s highest honour”.

The annual awards, now in its 21st year, recognises excellence across six types: websites; advertising, media and PR; film and video; mobile sites and apps; social; and podcasts and digital audio. Winners are selected by members of the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, based on criteria including creativity, engagement, reach and functionality. There are over 100 categories, in which each entrant has two chances to win: by judging panel vote and public vote.

Last year’s awards honoured 378 winners including a star-studded line-up for the Special Achievement prizes, such as Lena Dunham and Jenni Konner, who were recognised for their work on Lenny Letter.

Alicia Garza, Opal Tometi and Patrisse Cullors, founders of the #BlackLivesMatter organisation, were awarded The Webby Social Movement of the Year for their roles in the Black Lives Matter movement.

R/GA was named Agency of the Year, and The Onion was given the Lifetime Achievement award.

Kim Kardashian-West was given the first Break the Internet award, and for her five-word acceptance speech said: “Nude Selfies Till I Die”.

Entries close 16 December, find out more about the competition and criteria here.


Webby Awards: Film director Spike Lee and Opal Tometi, Co-founder of #BlackLivesMatter


Webby Awards: Bob Greenberg, founder of R/GA


Webby Awards: Kim Kardashian-West