Work / Events

Angoulême Winners

All this week we’re filling our regular midday slot with comics as we take a closer look at the winners of Angoulême – the largest comics festival in Europe and annual pilgrimage for all bande dessinée devotees since 1974. Of all the prizes announced yesterday, one of the greatest honours, the Grand Prix, is awarded to a living comics artist in recognition of their lifetime achievement. This year the winner was Jean-Claude Denis (pictured), who will succeed the luminary Art Spiegalman as president for the 2013 festival.

Best Comic Award (Le Fauve D’Or – Prix Du Meilleur) – Guy Delisle: Chroniques de Jérusalem
Audacity Award (Fauve D’Angoulême – Prix De L’Audace) – Navarro Morgan: Teddy Beat
Views on the World Award (Prix Regards Sur le Monde) – Yoshihiro Tatsumi: Une Vie dans le Marges 2
Breakthrough Award (La Prixe Revelation) – Gilles Rochier: Ta Mere La Pute
Special Jury Prize – Jim Woodring – Frank and the Cnngress of Animals